Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

“We did a whole tape while you slept and you ***** still sleepin,” are the words from Radio B on “Trip in to the Cosmos” and it’s true. The aforementioned tape “TENTHSNDHRS”  is a combination of Association of Great Minds members Radio B and Michael Millions and it virtually came out of nowhere to land online this 4th of July weekend. The album was kept so underground that even their AGM teammate Nickelus F mentioned in his interlude that they didn’t hit him for a verse. The project was released yesterday on iTunes and instantly started gaining buzz through social media.

“TENTHSNDHRS” follows Millions’ “Beautiful” and Radio’s “Never Fall Off” both individual projects that received praised from writers and bloggers as the best of their individual works to date. Working together, they fill a void that’s missing in most modern hip-hop projects. First and foremost, “TENTHSNDHRS” delivers high quality content aka lyrics aka pure hip-hop bars. Radio and Mike are never artists to dumb down their lyrical content yet, they elevate their games to a supreme level on “TENTHSNDHRS,” every verse  is competitive, in a good way. There are no throw-away verses and often deliver meaningful commentary on Richmond’s culture and community, not just witty rhymes though there are those too.

The production on “TENTHSNDHRS” is a combination of what has worked best in the past for Radio and Michael along with some newcomers that are making their way on to Richmond’s production scene. The first four tracks are produced by Radio B’s longtime Russian collaborator Chiveer, then comes production from a variety of other quality hip-hop producers: newcomer and Avers band member J.L. Hodges, AGM member and Millions’ longtime producer NameBrand, Cheats Movement Podcast member D.J. Mentos, and Richmond’s MadGenuis Ohbliv to name a few that added production credit. All of the production mixes well with Radio and Millions’ flows, which is a testament to their ears as artists.  They know what works and equally important they know what doesn’t work for them. They stretch themselves into their own lane, and yet they do not overextend themselves with sounds that don’t make sense.

From beginning to end, “TENTHSNDHRS” is musical success. The only feature on the album is Charged Up ENT’s Noah-O on the track “Cold Day in Hell.” The album is 12 tracks with an interlude and runs just over 30 minutes, which makes it a quick quality listen. It’s difficult to select any track as a standout single without naming all of them.

On his interlude, Nickelus F calls this album a “gift” and that is true but this holiday weekend is not the time for “TENTHSNDHRS” to celebrate…not yet anyway. Now is the time for them to move this sound to a new level. #WESEEIT

1 Comment

Leave a Reply